We have 🍪Cookies! More information
  • More information in our Privacy Statement

Sluit
Sluit

An interdisciplinary performance by Guy Weizman, NITE and Schauspiel Hannover.  

Do we really dare to question our prejudices? Have we maybe become too politically correct? How do we move forward without losing each other?

TOURLIST

Yara’s Wedding is an interdisciplinary performance directed by Guy Weizman, with text by Antigone Akgün, Rik van den Bos, Rasit Elibol and Mohamedou Ould Slahi Houbeini. Together this unique group of writers – inspired by the work of Edward Said “Orientalism” – wrote a play about framing based on origin, color, orientation, social status and cultural conflicts. No confrontation is avoided in this very musical and lively performance with 12 actors, dancers, singers and musicians from different backgrounds and nationalities.

SPOILER ALERT
Yara, Greta, Sebastian and Tony are childhood friends. They grew up in the same neighborhood and spent long, wet summers together. They were inseparable until that one night. The night the mansion burned down.

12 years later, Yara married Sebastian. On the occasion of the celebration, (old) friends and family go on a trip. Far away from their familiar surroundings, new bonds are forged and old conflicts come to light. In the carousel of confrontations, encounters and situations at the wedding, everyone slowly becomes so drunk and emotional that no one wants to go to bed until everything that needs to be said or done has been said or done.

ABOUT NITE 
In a quest to to make sense of a rapidly changing world we are making performances that are as spectaculair and interwoven as the world itself. After SALAM, Brave New World 2.0, Before/After and The Underground, NITE is now performing Yara’s Wedding. Yara’s Wedding is a co-production of NITE (Noord Nederlands Toneel, Club Guy & Roni, Slagwerk Den Haag and Asko|Schönberg) and Schauspiel Hannover.

Directed by Guy Weizman in collaboration with the cast.
Choreography: Roni Haver
Composition: Loradeniz
Text: Rik van den Bos & Antigone Akgün & Rasit Elibol & Mohammedou Ould Slahi

With live music by Asko|Schönberg and Slagwerk den Haag

Cast: Sarah Janneh, Sanne den Hartogh, Anja Herden, Bien De Moor, Igor Podsiadly, Jésula Toussaint Visser, Nicolas Matthews, Katherina Sattler
Musicians: Jochem Braat, Karima El Fillali, Oriol Marès, Niels Meliefste
Set: Ascon de Nijs
Costumes: MAISON the FAUX
Dramaturge: Friederike Schubert
Musical dramaturge: David Dramm
Sound design: Peter Zwart
Lighting design: Maarten van Rossem

NITE: Noord Nederlands Toneel + Club Guy & Roni + Schauspiel Hannover + Asko|Schönberg + Slagwerk Den Haag

tourlist

Feb
Thu 9 Feb 20:00
Agenda

Public rehearsal Yara's Wedding

Theater de Machinefabriek Groningen
Fri 24 Feb 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Sat 25 Feb 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Mar
Thu 2 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 3 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 4 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 10 Mar 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Thu 16 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 17 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 18 Mar 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Wed 22 Mar 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Thu 23 Mar 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Tue 28 Mar 20:00
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Schouwburg,Theater Rotterdam
Wed 29 Mar 20:00
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Theater Rotterdam,Schouwburg
Thu 30 Mar 20:00
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Theater Rotterdam,Schouwburg
Apr
Tue 4 Apr 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden
Wed 5 Apr 20:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Chassé Theater Breda
Sat 15 Apr 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Thu 20 Apr 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag
Thu 27 Apr 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
May
Sat 6 May 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Sun 7 May 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Mon 8 May 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Wed 17 May 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Thu 18 May 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 19 May 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 20 May 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Tue 23 May 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Wed 24 May 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover
Tue 30 May 20:00
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Wed 31 May 20:15
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Wilminktheater Enschede
Jun
Thu 1 Jun 20:00
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Zwolse Theaters - De Spiegel
Sun 11 Jun 19:30
Agenda

Yara’s Wedding

Staatstheater Hannover

Feed

Internship Marketing 2023

17 11 2022

Poetic Disaters Club at De Parade

04 07 2022

Internship Marketing

11 10 2021

NITE Delivery: More is more

28 04 2021
More feeds

Stay in the know on all things NITE and when we’re around! Keep me updated